M League 2014 – Season Wrap Up

Wednesday November 26th saw the 2014 season come to a close with 4 very entertaining Grand Finals.

Premier Mens saw the Southern Seahawks push Bayside Braves for the first half with only 5 goals separating the two teams at the half. However in the ‘premiership’ third quarter, the Braves exerted their dominance with a masterful display as they stretched the margin to 20 goals heading into the last. The Seahawks fought gallantly in the final term to bring some respectability back to the scoreline and managed to get the closest to the Braves that any team has gotten throughout the entire season. Congratulations to Bayside Braves, victors 62-47. Umpires – Kate Wright and Michael Portaro

Grand Final MVP – Nathan Begley (Bayside Braves)

Season MVP – Brodie Roberts (Western Thunder)

Division One Mens saw the closest Grand Final played out between Northern Titans and Eastside Saints. The two teams matched up very well on paper and this game was always destined to be decided by only a handful of goals.  The lead see-sawed throughout the entire match and Eastside Saints held there nerve in the dying minutes with Joshua Clavarino shooting the winning goal with less than 60 seconds to play. Eastside Saints def Northern Titans 44-43. Umpires – Kylie Brown and Judi Sutton

Grand Final MVP – Brent Stone (Northern Titans)

Season MVP joint winners – Tim Malmo (Northern Bullets) and Andrew Dike (Doncaster & Districts)

In Premier mixed, the question was whether Windsor Wilderbeasts could carry their 2014 season form through to the Grand Final against the three time reigning champions Bayside Bears. The early signs were good for Wilderbeasts as they lead at every change however in the final term the Bears exerted their dominance to get on top and run away winners 45-38. Umpires – Nathan Begley and Amy Winchcombe

Grand Final MVP – Merrow Clough (Bayside Bears)

Season MVP – Ricky Papara (Richmond Ravens)

Yarra Valley Young Guns were on song from the first whistle against the Northern Titans in the Division One Mixed Grand Final. Even though they were missing their star GA Brodie Roberts, the Young Guns had too much speed and class for Titans running out comfortable victors 64-39. Hopefully the Young Guns will stay together next year as they progress to the Premier Mixed division. Umpires Sue Coppinger and Jane Bowring

Grand Final MVP – Riley RIchardson (Yarra Valley Young Guns)

Season MVP – Brodie Roberts (Yarra Valley Young Guns)

Special thanks to Juleen Maxfield (Umpires Coordinator) and Wendy Armstrong (Match Night Coordinator) for all their tireless work throughout the season to ensure that the Victorian M League is the best competition in Australia.

Wishing you all a very safe and merry festive season!

Adam Boldiston

VMNL – M League Coordinator